Two Birds, One Sparrow

2

August 12, 2013 by drandmrso

On Friday afternoon I decided to paint my bathroom. By Saturday night, the job was done.

picstitch (14)

Let me back up here for a second: I actually decided months ago to paint my bathroom. In fact, I stated my intention to do so in my post on July 1. And a few weeks ago I picked up a whole stack of paint chips from the hardware store. But on Friday night, for whatever reason, motivation struck and in a home-improvement-nado (similar to a Sharknado…and also not at all similar to a Sharknado) I started actually getting the job done.

First, I had to decide on a color. The bathroom has no windows, so while I would have loved to do something really dark and dramatic, without at least a little natural light to balance it I feared scaring guests and small children away from our comode. After analyzing what seemed like 50 shades of gray (yep, I went there), I narrowed it down to two from Behr: Manhatten Mist and Sparrow.

Manhatten Mist on the left, Sparrow on the right.

Manhatten Mist on the left, Sparrow on the right.

If you read the title of this post you can probably guess that I went with…Sparrow! Not just because the name is cute, I promise. After I did a happy dance, I went over to Young House Love and read through their painting tips. I realized I should take the opportunity to do a once-over in our bathroom and see what else needed fixing in there before I painted. Turned out that the caulk around the vanity and the tub was in pretty rough shape, and the old shower curtain had ripped away some paint when I took it down.

Caulktastic.

Caulktastic.

So off to the store I went to fetch painting, spackling, and caulking supplies. I returned home with a quart of Sparrow in a satin finish, plus tools like a roller and angled brush, and started attacking the old caulk. It took about one chapter in my audiobook (The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz, if you’re curious) to get all the old caulk out and patch up the shower rod blemishes.

Dap Crackshot spackle + a 2" putty knife.

Dap Crackshot spackle + a 2″ putty knife.

Spackle on...

Spackle on…

...spackle off.

…spackle off.

It was about 8:00 pm at this point and my grand plan was to put down the new caulk, let it dry overnight (even though the packaging says it’s paint-safe in 30 minutes), get right to painting in the morning, and maybe even be done by the time Dr. O got home after his night on call. That’s when I realized I had failed to pick up a caulk gun. Bummer! So instead of caulking, I had a glass of wine and watched Skyfall.

Saturday morning, after running to the store to get a caulk gun, I got down to business—quietly. Dr. O had returned from his overnight on-call shift (during which he had gotten a total of one hour of sleep) and was conked out in our bedroom, which is directly across the hall from the bathroom. You may recall he’s a light sleeper. Luckily for him, however, caulking and taping and wiping down the walls are fairly quiet activities.

After a lunch break it was finally time to paint! I started by cutting in around all of the trim and the mirror and the shower, then I rolled the larger parts of the walls. It took two coats to fully cover the creamy yellow that was on the walls before. Sadly I don’t have any action shots of the painting process because my hands were covered by about 10 minutes in. A pristine painter, I am not.

By 5:00 pm the walls were a new, happy, ever-so-slightly blue-ish gray. Swoon! Here she is, all gussied up.

View from the hallway.

View from the hallway.

Debating whether we need a shelf now or not...

Debating whether we even need a shelf now or not…

The vanity actually looks whiter now, even though it's actually off-white! Score!

The vanity actually looks whiter now, even though it’s really off-white! Score!

Vincent vote of approval.

Vincent vote of approval.

Next project: light fixture.

Future projects: paint the light fixture and frame the mirror.

Potential future accent colors: lime green, coral, deep blue...

Potential future accent colors: lime green, coral, the blue in these hand towels?

I. Love. It.

I. Love. It.

It’s amazing how a little paint can really change the entire feeling of a room. I like the serenity and slightly more modern look of the gray walls paired with our dark green towels. I’m planning on throwing a couple of bright prints up on the wall for added interest.

So now I can now officially cross off number 45 on my list of 101 Things, and my Home Goal for the quarter. How about you? What feels-so-good things have you checked off your lists recently?

2 thoughts on “Two Birds, One Sparrow

  1. emmcurran says:

    Wow! What a difference a little paint can make! The transformation looks great. I really like the colors in the hand towel – those colors would look great as accents in the room. Also the 101 things is a super cool idea! I might have to make a list of my own…

    • drandmrso says:

      Thanks, Elizabeth! I’m really, really happy with it. And the 101 Things list is especially great for weekends where you find you need something to do, I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

Hi there!

Dr. O is an otorhinolaryngology resident. Mrs. O was an English major and is easily grossed out by blood and guts. This is the blog where Mrs. O documents their adventures in (not bloody) detail. Enjoy!

Most Recent

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Annie has read 21 books toward her goal of 30 books.
hide

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

bo-pinion log

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Beeroness

Cooking and baking with craft beer

http://beinggeekchic.com/

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

Northeast of Eden

Follow our adventures owning a home in NE Minneapolis!

Stuff You Should Know

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Health : NPR

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

'Sota is Sexy

(and by "sexy" I mean there's lots of tater tots and sweatpants)

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

