Stitch Fix: Part Deux

3

August 4, 2013 by drandmrso

You may recall my last post about this really fantastic new service called Stitch Fix. It’s a company that collects your style and size information and sends you five surprise clothing and accessory items in the mail for a styling fee of $20. You can send back any items that you don’t love and the styling fee goes toward anything you decide to keep. Brilliant, right?

I got my second box in the mail not too long ago. I was sadly not as impressed as the first go-round. Here’s what they sent me this time.

Party on the bottom, too much party on the top.

Party on the bottom, too much party on the top.

The bottom half of this dress was great! The top, not so much. It was way, way too big. I did like the fabric and the pattern, but the fit issue took it out of the running.

Orange you glad....nope.

Orange you glad….nope.

While I loved the color of these cutoff pants, they just didn’t fit quite right. Not necessarily too big or too small, but ladies raise your hand if you don’t have issues shopping for pants. Exactly.

This is my "first selfie in a mirror" face. And also my cat Vincent.

This is my “first selfie in a mirror” face. And also my cat Vincent.

Next up was this bright blue cardigan. I put it on right over what I wore to work that day. Extra bonus: it’s made from a wonderfully soft material. Love it!

That's my "not impressed" face.

That’s my “not impressed” face.

Sadly the other top was not as delightful. Too flowy for my taste, and a bit too retro, too.

No more wire {flowers}!!!

No more wire {flowers}!!!

Last up was this big statement necklace. I did request a necklace in this fix (you have the option to send a special message when you schedule), but I failed to mention my taste in jewelry anywhere in my style profile. And here’s the thing: I do not like to wear flowers or hearts. At all. The only exceptions: I own one pair of funky orange flower earrings and two heart lockets (one from my mom that has a picture of Johnny Depp inside, and one from my grandma that belonged to her mom). So this necklace was just never destined to find a home in my jewelry box.

Since I decided to keep the blue cardigan, I took the opportunity to purge the two below that I have owned for more than five years (and it was definitely starting to show).

One in, two out. Progress.

One in, two out. Progress.

I was much more impressed with my first experience, so I think I’ll give Stitch Fix another shot. If you’re interested in trying it out, use this link and it will earn me a credit of $25 towards my next fix. Please and thank you.

3 thoughts on “Stitch Fix: Part Deux

  1. emmcurran says:

    I’ve tried Stitch Fix once so far. It’s a pretty cool idea, I think! I especially like the referral credits!

  2. joe s says:

    interesting…. I wonder if they have something like this for guys.

Leave a Reply

Hi there!

Dr. O is an otorhinolaryngology resident. Mrs. O was an English major and is easily grossed out by blood and guts. This is the blog where Mrs. O documents their adventures in (not bloody) detail. Enjoy!

Most Recent

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Annie has read 21 books toward her goal of 30 books.
hide

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

bo-pinion log

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Beeroness

Cooking and baking with craft beer

http://beinggeekchic.com/

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

Northeast of Eden

Follow our adventures owning a home in NE Minneapolis!

Stuff You Should Know

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Health : NPR

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

'Sota is Sexy

(and by "sexy" I mean there's lots of tater tots and sweatpants)

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

