Reading Rainbow

Leave a comment

July 3, 2013 by drandmrso

Organizing bookshelves by the color of the cover is all the rage these days. Seriously, check it out here. I decided to give it a shot since our bookcases are very much on display in our living room and I love organizing things. Here’s the before, arranged in the blase fashion of alphabetic by title:

Alphabetical, schmalphabetical.

Alphabetical, schmalphabetical.

Yes, that cover of that little book on the lower shelf is a mole with poo on his head. Long story.

Yes, that cover of that little book on the lower shelf is a mole with poo on his head. Long story.

That's my bookworm plush on the top shelf. And an homage to our two favorite states on the lower shelf.

That’s my bookworm plush on the top shelf. And an homage to our two favorite states on the lower shelf.

The process of sorting the books was fun!

And the after, organized by color:

Subtle, but a little more polished, right?

Subtle, but a little more polished, right?

I also took the opportunity to reorient some of the piles for added interest.

I also took the opportunity to reorient some of the piles for added interest. Oh, and I had to leave the HP series together because…well…I just had to.

Punky the bookworm is still there, chowing down.

Punky the bookworm is still there, chowing down.

Truly a reading rainbow if there ever was one! And I can’t make that statement without sending a virtual fist bump to LeVar Burton and my all-time-favorite kids’ show.

Don’t take my word for it!

In other reading news, back when I made my list of 101 Things in 1001 Days, I included this goal: read all of the books that I currently own but haven’t actually read yet. This is an ongoing problem in my life. I absolutely love used bookstores (or is it used-book stores?) and tend to buy way more books than I consume. Plus, I love receiving books as gifts, so there seems to always be a decent selection of stories on my shelf that are still new to me. Here are the 20 books that were on my shelf when I set the goal:

  • The Art of War by Sun Tzu
  • Atonement by Ian McEwan
  • The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama
  • The Color of Water by James McBride
  • A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin – Update: I actually finished this one last night!
  • Dreams from my Father by Barack Obama
  • The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
  • Hanna’s Daughters by Marianne Fredriksson
  • Homeland and Other Stories by Barbara Kingsolver
  • Hot, Flat, and Crowded by Thomas L. Friedman
  • The Island of the Day Before by Umberto Eco
  • Land of Marvels by Barry Unsworth
  • Loving Frank by Nancy Horan
  • The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • The Queen’s Fool by Philippa Gregory
  • The Red Queen by Matt Ridley
  • The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie
  • Small Wonder by Barbara Kingsolver
  • Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

I keep track of all my books that I want to read and reviews of what I’ve already read on Goodreads.com. I love the interface and the fact that it is a site totally, purely dedicated to books and reading and connecting people that like books and reading. Join up and connect with me to see my reviews from the books above (as I make my way through them) plus dozens of others!

Note: I’m not being compensated by Reading Rainbow or Goodreads for recommending them. But I would totally take any swag they sent me.

Leave a Reply

Hi there!

Dr. O is an otorhinolaryngology resident. Mrs. O was an English major and is easily grossed out by blood and guts. This is the blog where Mrs. O documents their adventures in (not bloody) detail. Enjoy!

Most Recent

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Annie has read 21 books toward her goal of 30 books.
hide

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

bo-pinion log

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Beeroness

Cooking and baking with craft beer

http://beinggeekchic.com/

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

Northeast of Eden

Follow our adventures owning a home in NE Minneapolis!

Stuff You Should Know

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Health : NPR

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

'Sota is Sexy

(and by "sexy" I mean there's lots of tater tots and sweatpants)

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

