Stitch Fix

2

June 28, 2013 by drandmrso

This was my latest Goodwill donation:

I never meant to hurt yooouuu, I never meant to make you cry, but tonight I'm cleaning out my closets...

I never meant to hurt yooouuu, I never meant to make you cry, but tonight I’m cleaning out my closets…

Holy schmoly balls, amirite? That’s over 18 pairs of pants/shorts/capris ALONE. Gone. Out of my closet. Buhbye.

It felt great! And it opens up the opportunity to do something that I feel I really need to do to become a more organized and polished adult: build a wardrobe. I’m talking about only owning clothing that actually fits properly, looks good on me, and is of a decent quality (so it won’t disintegrate after a couple of washes). Gone are the days of buying something purely because it’s cute and deeply discounted. I’ve done that way too many times with the end result of wearing something maybe twice before deciding I don’t really need it, after all.

To help me in this endeavor I’ve recruited Stitch Fix, a website that acts as a personal stylist for its members. For a $20 fee that goes toward any items you choose to keep, Stitch Fix sends you five pieces in the mail based on the preferences you establish in your profile. I had a lot of fun going through their style survey and answering questions about my “look,” which honestly I had never tried to actually pin down before. Trusting in the knowledge that the professional stylists at the site had my size and style information, I scheduled my first fix to be delivered a couple weeks later.

It arrived exactly on time; this happy sight was on the stoop after work one day:

Nothing like mysterious packages to brighten your day!

Nothing like mysterious packages to brighten your day!

And inside I found beautiful packaging and a note with the directions to try everything on and return what I don’t like in the included mailer. How easy is that?

Stitch Fix 2

Yes, I can hear you saying, “What’s in the box already?!” Well here ya go:

Stitch Fix 3

Right off the bat I knew I was keeping this precious gold bracelet:

The charm on the end of the chain has a little bee imprint.

The charm on the end of the chain has a little bee imprint.

I have super-tiny wrists and a very small collection of jewelry that is work appropriate (I love me some friendship bracelets!), so this was a perfect addition to my wardrobe.

Next I tried on the cool green bird print tank. While I absolutely adored the print, it was sadly too big in the arms so it had to go back.

The red-and-tan striped tank, however, fit perfectly. It has a high-low cut which I don’t usually go for, but it looked really great tucked into a work-appropriate pencil skirt and over a pair of skinny jeans with a belt over the top. One top that will work at the office and on the weekend? That’s my definition of an appropriate wardrobe piece. Keeper!

I didn’t have as much luck with the bottoms. The pair of skinny black jeans was too small thanks to my giant calves. No, really. I’m not one to complain about my body but I seriously have gigantic calves compared to the rest of me. Skinny jeans almost never fit, and these pants were sadly no exception.

Next was the full-length skirt in a pattern that was very flattering and fun. But I could only picture one or two tops that I own looking good with it so it just didn’t feel versatile enough for me to keep.

So that’s that! Fix number one resulted in a bracelet and a tank and I’m two steps closer to a cohesive, stylish wardrobe. If you’re interested in trying out their service (and I highly recommend it!) you can use this link and I’ll get a $25 credit if you sign up. Sweet deal, no? And I should clarify: I’m in no way being reimbursed for recommending Stitch Fix, I just thoroughly enjoyed the experience and thought a couple of you might, too.

How about you? How do you shop and preen your closet?

2 thoughts on “Stitch Fix

  1. Bailey says:

    I do something like this, too! Le Tote: https://letote.com/ It’s so fun. I love getting my tote and people compliment me all the time. I giggle since I’m more or less just renting clothes.

Leave a Reply

Hi there!

Dr. O is an otorhinolaryngology resident. Mrs. O was an English major and is easily grossed out by blood and guts. This is the blog where Mrs. O documents their adventures in (not bloody) detail. Enjoy!

Most Recent

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Annie has read 21 books toward her goal of 30 books.
hide

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

bo-pinion log

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Beeroness

Cooking and baking with craft beer

http://beinggeekchic.com/

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

Northeast of Eden

Follow our adventures owning a home in NE Minneapolis!

Stuff You Should Know

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Health : NPR

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

'Sota is Sexy

(and by "sexy" I mean there's lots of tater tots and sweatpants)

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

