Showing Off What Your Grandmama Gave You

5

May 8, 2013 by drandmrso

My grandmother is a woman of many talents. Not least of which is her incredible aptitude for sewing; I am the proud owner of several blankets and quilts that she has made for me over the years. When I received a beautiful set of hand-embroidered dishcloths (one for every day of the week except Sunday, which is wash day) for my wedding, I knew right away that they would become a treasured heirloom and most certainly would not be cleaning up any spaghetti sauce spills. I have $1 Ikea rags for that.

So last year, when we moved into our new house, I dreamed up this little scheme to display the cloths above our sink:

Nicely folded hanging on a curtain rod above the sink. Not bad.

Nicely folded hanging on a curtain rod above the sink. Not bad.

It’s been an adequate solution. But a few weeks ago on Pinterest I saw this…

From Focal Point Styling Blog: a how-to on framing fabric!

…and immediately became giddy at the thought of framing my heirlooms and putting them up on the bigger wall near our table in place of a framed painting that just never looked quite right on that wall.

The big wall in our kitchen "before".

The big wall in our kitchen “before”.

I set myself a goal of updating my kitchen this spring, and then Sherry and John over at Young House Love announced the Spring Pinterest Challenge and the game was on!

I bought six 12″ x 12″ frames from Hobby Lobby that were originally $9.99 each for the stellar deal of half off! Then, since I didn’t want to alter or damage the actual dishcloths, I wrapped the cloth around the backing of each frame and used pins to secure the cloth in place.

Sewing pins should be plenty to hold these lightweight cloths in place.

Sewing pins should be plenty to hold these lightweight cloths in place.

I decided to remove the glass from the frames because it was just too hard to get the cloth to fit in the frame wrinkle-free. Maybe after they’ve been hanging this way for a couple of months the fabric will have relaxed a bit and I can put the glass back on. But I think they actually look really nice without the glass.

After I framed all six, I measured out the hangers on the wall and popped ’em up there:

Pretty, no? I love the bright colors!

Pretty, no? I love the bright colors!

This little project was a great success and really went exactly as I planned. When does that ever happen?!

Each day has a unique, pretty produce picture.

Each day has a unique, pretty produce picture.

I love the after.

I love the after.

How about you? What little projects are you tackling these days? For more Spring-time Pin-spiration, check out the other sponsors of the Spring Pinterest Challenge:

Emily at Sparkle Meets Pop beautifully reupholstered a chair.

Katie at Bower Power made a really cool 3D monogram on a large scale.

Renee at Red Bird Blue made a gorgeous doormat that could easily hang on the wall as art!

5 thoughts on “Showing Off What Your Grandmama Gave You

  1. These tea towels look really adorable all framed up. I really like the contrast between the whimsy of the towels with the clean lines of the black frames!

  2. Angela says:

    I love it! My grandmother embroidered some tea towels for me years ago, and I wasn’t wise enough at the time to save them. I have two that are still in great shape and I’m definitely following your lead and framing them.

  3. Kimberly says:

    Those are such cute towels!

Leave a Reply

Hi there!

Dr. O is an otorhinolaryngology resident. Mrs. O was an English major and is easily grossed out by blood and guts. This is the blog where Mrs. O documents their adventures in (not bloody) detail. Enjoy!

Most Recent

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Annie has read 21 books toward her goal of 30 books.
hide

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

bo-pinion log

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Beeroness

Cooking and baking with craft beer

http://beinggeekchic.com/

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

Northeast of Eden

Follow our adventures owning a home in NE Minneapolis!

Stuff You Should Know

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Health : NPR

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

'Sota is Sexy

(and by "sexy" I mean there's lots of tater tots and sweatpants)

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

