Project Managing My Life

3

May 1, 2013 by drandmrso

Friends, it’s been a while. I know—and I’m sorry. April was a rough month. But as a friend noted, it was a rough month for a lot of people. And cats, apparently.

Jules

It started out full steam ahead: for the first 10 days of April I was maintaining my workout schedule, writing 1,000 words a day for Camp NaNoWriMo, cooking all meals at home, maintaining my seedlings, keeping up with my reading goals for 2013, and I even spent a weekend in Minneapolis with friends. Then things sort of fizzled. Work picked up, Dr. O and I spent an absolutely wonderful weekend in Madison, I convinced myself that I could skip just one day at the gym (that was April 13th and I haven’t been back since) and in general I just got lazy about most of the things I had going on at the beginning of the month. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy a few weeks of idleness, though!

Clockwise from top left: itty bitty tomato seeling; Ms. N and Dr. O enjoying brunch in Madison; Dr. O and our nephew E; basking in the first truly warm day of the season at a Twins game.

Clockwise from top left: itty bitty tomato seedling; Ms. C and Dr. O enjoying brunch in Madison; Dr. O and our nephew E; basking in the first truly warm day of the season at a Twins game.

The whole situation is strange to me. Usually, come spring, I’m waking up earlier, full of energy, bursting to get outside. So while I honestly don’t know what happened this April, let’s start fresh in May, shall we?

With all of this in mind, I’m taking a new approach in an effort to avoid total lethargy takeovers in the future: I’m going to project manage my life.

In my last job I was—I’ve been told—a pretty decent project manager. At my current job I don’t play much of a planning role and I really miss it. I miss creating timelines, developing task lists, monitoring progress. So where better to get that fix than an area that clearly needs a little more attention? Hence, the Project Managing My Life approach.

The idea is to develop a list of goals quarterly and implement a plan (with tasks, a timeline, etc.) for each. I’ll have one goal in each of the following areas:

  1. Family
  2. Self
  3. Health
  4. Community
  5. Home

So, without further ado, the goals for Q2 (April 1 to June 30) 2013:

Family

Go on four different types of dates with Dr. O.

In theory this one should be pretty easy. Tasks include:

  1. Pick days that will actually work and mark them on both of our calendars.
  2. Find fun things to do!

Self

Write at least two blog posts per week, to be published on Wednesdays at noon-ish and Sunday evenings.

I attempted to do this in February and March of this year and actually did fairly well. I hope you all agree that an entire month off from blogging was not ideal. My to-do list:

  1. Create a “big picture” plan of what I want the blog to be.
  2. Put time on my calendar to dedicate to blogging.
  3. Generate a list of post ideas to pull from.
  4. Every week, make sure I have at least an idea of what the next four posts will be.

Health

Meet the 30-visit mark at the gym in order to get the incentive discount.

Sigh. I realize that I’m never going to be a die-hard gym goer, but honestly we’re paying for the membership and I am by no means in top physical condition so I just need to get my butt in the door! Simple, right?

Community

Establish my Little Free Library.

More details on this one coming soon, but for now here’s a sneak peak:

It's little and pretty and great!

It’s little and pretty and great!

Remaining tasks for the library include:

  1. Transfer to father-in-law for assembly.
  2. Retrieve from father-in-law after assembly.
  3. Get a post/pillar thingy for it to perch on in the yard. Plant post/pillar thingy.
  4. Cull through my book collection and pick library-destined tomes.
  5. Set it all up!

Home

Kitchen updates including displaying a precious wedding gift, changing out the light fixture, and making (eep!) and installing new curtains.

Our house is lovely. It was only built 9 years ago so there really aren’t a ton of big upgrades that need to be made (save for the unfinished basement, but that’s already been designated as a Q4 2013 through Q1 2014 project). But I can’t avoid the redecorating urge so I’m doing a few small updates to the kitchen.

  1. Buy frames for the wedding gift.
  2. Hang frames containing wedding gift. (Pictures/details coming Wednesday, May 8th!)
  3. Make curtains. This involves several sub-tasks, including deciding whether or not I should get a sewing machine…thoughts?
  4. Paint and raise curtain rod. Install curtains.
  5. Find a light fixture that I like, or maybe make one?
  6. Install light fixture.

As I’m wrapping up writing this post, I’m realizing that this is probably terribly mundane blog material. But you know what they say: if you make your goals public you’re more likely to achieve them. So thanks for being my public! And I have to say, it feels good to have a plan–even a basic one.

What are your plans for the upcoming weeks? Do you set goals for yourself, or just tackle things as they come up?

3 thoughts on “Project Managing My Life

  1. The Dow of Food says:

    You’re amazing. I need you to Project Manage my life!!!

  2. […] set myself a goal of updating my kitchen this spring, and then Sherry and John over at Young House Love announced the Spring Pinterest Challenge and the […]

Leave a Reply

Hi there!

Dr. O is an otorhinolaryngology resident. Mrs. O was an English major and is easily grossed out by blood and guts. This is the blog where Mrs. O documents their adventures in (not bloody) detail. Enjoy!

Most Recent

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Annie has read 21 books toward her goal of 30 books.
hide

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

bo-pinion log

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Beeroness

Cooking and baking with craft beer

http://beinggeekchic.com/

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

Northeast of Eden

Follow our adventures owning a home in NE Minneapolis!

Stuff You Should Know

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Health : NPR

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

'Sota is Sexy

(and by "sexy" I mean there's lots of tater tots and sweatpants)

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

