Say Schiz!

8

March 20, 2013 by drandmrso

You may remember my last (incredibly unsuccessful) attempt at cheesemaking. Great news: I’m back in action and the result this time was just. So. Good.

Fried Cheese, Baby!

Fried Cheese, Baby!

For the last few weeks I’ve been hemming and hawing about getting back on the proverbial saddle and whipping up a cheese or two. Maybe it was because my last attempt outside of mozzarella was just so atrocious, maybe it was because I started a new job and found lots of excuses not to do it. Who knows. But finally–FINALLY–I saw something that made me spring into action. I subscribe to Cheesemaking.com‘s monthly Moosletter (the name makes it that much better). It’s full of little tidbits about cheesemaking events, new techniques, products for sale, and new recipes to try. Here’s an excerpt from this week’s new recipe from Jim Wallace:

Very Easy Schiz (Schkee)

In Northern Italy, there’s a region called the Dolomites where this cheese has its origins.  Traditionally, it is eaten very fresh (and very often!).

This is one of the easiest cheeses we’ve ever featured here.  It’s soft and sweet because it’s made without any bacterial culture or salt.

When you fry it up with a little butter, it caramelizes (yum!). In fact, the name actually comes from the sizzling sound it makes in the pan when it’s fried.

Ummmm…yeah. That was about all the convincing I needed. After a quick trip to the People’s Food Coop (the only place in town that I’ve found that carries non-homogenized organic milk), I was ready to rock and roll. First, heat up the milk.

Then you simply add the rennet (the stuff that makes it coagulate) and hang out for half an hour while it does its magic.

A watched pot...still makes cheese.

A watched pot…still makes cheese.

When the curd has formed, you cut it up into smaller bits, like so:

Who cut the cheese?

Who cut the cheese?

After letting the curds rest a few minutes, you heat them up again and cook until they are more solid and satisfactorily squeaky. After pouring off the whey, place the curds in the basket mold and you’re practically done.

Press the curds gently into the mold to help push out the excess whey. Flip the curds over a few times over the next couple of hours. I then stored my cheese in the fridge overnight with a cheese cloth draped over the top. The next evening, my cheese was perfectly squeaky. I cut it into triangles so it would fit in my container, and immediately started cooking.

All you do is place the pieces in a pan with some butter or olive oil and a little salt. Make sure to catch your drool.

Spinach salad, baked potato, and fried cheese. Dinner of future heart attack victims!

Spinach salad, baked potato, and fried cheese. Dinner of future heart attack victims!

Pretty yummy looking, huh? It is. It was a great success. The only problem: because there’s no culture in this cheese it goes bad fairly quickly. So guess what we’re having for dinner the next few nights? Healthy? No. A fantastic treat after a winter with entirely too much shoveling? Absolutely!

The official recipe and lots more information on the history of this type of cheese can be found here on Cheesemaking.com’s site. What are you cooking up in your kitchens these days? Any great successes? Any traumatic failures? I want to hear all about them.

8 thoughts on “Say Schiz!

  1. Steph says:

    That looks DE-LISH!!!!!! Yumm, super jealous! 🙂

  2. ihtreuer says:

    Well done, it looks great. I will have to try this one time. I love it that people are making cheese at home, welcome to the club.

    • drandmrso says:

      Thanks! I was really happy with how this one turned out–and it was super quick and uncomplicated. I’ve been making mozzarella and chevre for a couple of years now and I think it’s one of the most rewarding hobbies out there!

  3. Kim says:

    I am making this RIGHT now. Based on the reported ease of making…which is good. Because chevre works well for me. Mozzarella is a crap shot. Very pleased to see how yours looks – I’m much more hopeful than I was this morning. Glad to find your site!

  4. Monica says:

    This is my favorite cheese! I eat as much as possible when visiting my family in Italy. Unfortunately, my attempt at making this have failed miserably! It won’t thicken and curds are not forming at all!!! I followed the recipe step by step but I am about to just give up!! Any advice?

    • drandmrso says:

      Hi Monica,
      Thanks for stopping by the blog! I’m far from a cheese expert, but my first thought was that maybe you should try a different type of milk. If the milk you’re using is homogenized it won’t form a curd. Milk in glass bottles is generally non-homogenized if you can find it. And if that still doesn’t work the real expert is Ricki over at cheesemaking.com.
      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Hi there!

Dr. O is an otorhinolaryngology resident. Mrs. O was an English major and is easily grossed out by blood and guts. This is the blog where Mrs. O documents their adventures in (not bloody) detail. Enjoy!

Most Recent

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Annie has read 21 books toward her goal of 30 books.
hide

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

bo-pinion log

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Beeroness

Cooking and baking with craft beer

http://beinggeekchic.com/

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

Northeast of Eden

Follow our adventures owning a home in NE Minneapolis!

Stuff You Should Know

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Health : NPR

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

'Sota is Sexy

(and by "sexy" I mean there's lots of tater tots and sweatpants)

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

