Riddles & Greasewood Flat

4

February 17, 2013 by drandmrso

I am incredibly fortunate to have a wonderfully close group of friends–many of whom I have known since middle school (or earlier). While college and careers have scattered us across the country, we have always stayed in touch and have never failed to get together during holidays or breaks that bring us all back to our hometown in Minnesota.

The even more fortunate part of this group is the immensely generous parents that put up with our shenanigans in high school and beyond. From driving us to school activities to hosting us for weekends at their cabins to making us all feel at home no matter whose home we were actually at, it is no surprise that such great influences produced the people I consider to be my very closest friends in the world. So last year, when we started planning our first ever week-long getaway, it was both a wonderful surprise and yet not surprising that a friend’s parents offered us the use of their home in California. It ended up being a girls week by coincidence more than anything else–there are several guys in the group as well, but they weren’t available that week if my memory serves. We spent the week eating, drinking, hiking, sleeping, and talking, talking, talking. It was heavenly.

Naturally, after such a blissful week, we instituted an annual-trip-ideally-somewhere-warm policy. Which brings you up to date for this week: I am writing from a patio with a stunning vista of the Arizona desert, with a beer in hand (well, while I’m not typing) and the sound of my best friends’ conversations and laughter from the luxurious villa behind me. We, once again, benefited from the hospitality and limitless generosity of the parents of someone in the group. To Mr. and Mrs. S and Mr. and Mrs. J, for hosting us last year and this: thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you. There is no way to fully express our appreciation for what you have provided us: the chance to escape for a week to a place where we can reconnect and reminisce and relax. We are indebted to you.

Our luxurious digs in Arizona for the week.

Our luxurious digs in Arizona for the week.

So what are we getting ourselves into this week? The usual ridiculousness, of course. Most of the group arrived yesterday (the last two arrive on Tuesday). Last night we went to an outdoor biker bar nearby called Greasewood Flat. They specialize in burgers and beer (what more do you really need?) and last night they had a great live band playing Johnny Cash and Ronnie Milsap tunes, among others.

Bonfires surround the stage. Yee-haw!

Bonfires surround the stage. Yee-haw!

Today, since it looks like it’s going to be one of the hottest this week, we spent the entire afternoon at the pool in the unbelievably luxurious clubhouse of the resort.

Ummm....yeah. I can handle this.

Ummm….yeah. I can handle this.

For a good two hours we told each other riddles (did I mention we’re more than a little nerdy?) where the group asked the riddler yes/no questions to get the solution. Here are three of the best. Can you figure them out? No Googling allowed! I’ll respond to yes/no questions in the comments to help you out. Come back on Wednesday for more updates and the solutions!

1. A man was found dead in a field holding a straw. He appeared to have suffered from a significant fall. What happened?

2. An American woman who recently returned from a trip abroad was found dead in a field (this seemed to be a trend…). There was no gun shot or knife wound, and she didn’t have a heart attack or stroke. What happened?

3. Find the pattern: I like coffee, but I don’t like tea. I like juice, but I don’t like water. I like bananas, but I don’t like clementines. [For this one, construct your own “I like/don’t like” example and I’ll tell you if you’re on the right track–or ask me if I like something and I’ll tell ya].

Alright. Since it took me an hour to write/edit this, and my friends are beckoning from the hot tub, that’s all for now.

4 thoughts on “Riddles & Greasewood Flat

  1. I like beer but I don’t like vodka.

  2. Say hi to the saguaros for me — it’s been like 10 years…

Leave a Reply

Hi there!

Dr. O is an otorhinolaryngology resident. Mrs. O was an English major and is easily grossed out by blood and guts. This is the blog where Mrs. O documents their adventures in (not bloody) detail. Enjoy!

Most Recent

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Annie has read 21 books toward her goal of 30 books.
hide

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

bo-pinion log

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Beeroness

Cooking and baking with craft beer

http://beinggeekchic.com/

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

Northeast of Eden

Follow our adventures owning a home in NE Minneapolis!

Stuff You Should Know

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Health : NPR

A doctor's wife interprets gross medical stuff and life in general.

'Sota is Sexy

(and by "sexy" I mean there's lots of tater tots and sweatpants)

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

